When did the Third World become a minimalist?

 

nr 4 picture

 

The West is starting to long for owning only the core necessities. Oh, our households are so overwhelmed with overpriced useless clutter. We are complaining about the frustrating abundance of choices.

New movements are being launched to advocate the new elixir of happiness : BACK TO THE BASICS, THROW AWAY THE WESTERN WELFARE AND POSSESS AS FEW ITEMS AS POSSIBLE.

Newly-born western minimalists are boosting about leading a fulfilling life by owning less than 100 items. Their pioneers have managed to get by only with 50 things…….

I have a bad news for us, my friends. We lost this contest long ago.

The Third World has the competitive advances in this aspect. Their whole society has been structured based on our so-called minimalist conception.

So, my minimalist fellows, catch up with the Third World and learn to live owning only the core necessities.

This abundance is really frustrating. In this maze of choices the West can even opt for downsizing.

 

 

26 comments

  1. I believe we need what we need, but if somebody has 1,000 pairs of shoes and 10,000 outfits, many houses to which never go, many cars which they cannot all ever drive, that is overdone. We are also seeing one or two people living in some 40 room mansions or residences of a size of a village. That is overboard. These people are dishonestly exploiting and, in fact, wasting, the resources which are not endless.
    I do create a lot of art, I paint, etc. If the minimalism excludes art on walls, I’d be against it. I do think, however, that a room has enough if it has a few pieces of functional furniture (which is rare in Western countries because it’s very hard to find multipurpose adjustable furniture unless one wants to deal with Ikea boards and construction), a few green live plants and art everywhere. When I take some pieces to exhibition and remove them from walls, it is absurd how bad and empty the room looks.
    It is in global huge international companies favor to sell anything. This anything includes things which one never needs, will never use or will feel any lack of them.
    Human nature believes that more is better. It’s actually not. We will be seeing consequences of that soon.

    Liked by 1 person

    • My problem is the manipulated definion of my needs. I have recently spent time gauging what I need. My wide range of stuff for which I paid a lot definitely excess my real needs.

      Anyway, I don’ think that art for the sake of art itself should be even rejected by any ideas.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. This is a problem for me. I am not a hoarder by any means, but am sentimental, and therefore hold onto certain things, which, let’s be honest, I don’t need. Ticket stubs, souvenirs and books that I have enjoyed. I can say that I don’t buy a lot of clothing, or waste food really. So that’s a plus.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I wanted to declutter my pretty large bookself. I have so many university books ( I have not opened them for 10 years only two of them), so many Oxford world’s classic (read once, never to be read in the next decade, quite cheap), travel books (souvenir of my former trip, not to be used in the next years as I visit new sights), language manuels (so proud to speak svereal foreign language) and some to be read books. I had to retain a few because I wanted my bookself to reflect my personality. Actually I am the same person without this continual physical self-justification but I need this. :):):)

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Great post and I love how you compared it to third world. We are so “spoiled” when other countries can’t even get by. Makes me wonder how much the entire economy of the world would change if we all had the “minimal” mindset…even those in the mansions.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I think it depends on what is necessity. When I was traveling a 65 liter and 30 liter pack held all my possessions. Now I have kitchen items and a little furniture so I exceed 50 but likely not 100/125 and I lack nothing for comfort. Sorry about the partial previous comment. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. The topics you choose are very relevant for today’s world. I always preferred minimalism but at the same time I understand why people keep lot’s of stuff – it gives them stronger sense of self, security and worth – at least for a while. I would mainly blame the consumerism as we are told buy, buy and you will be happy…but I know it is not that simple. Anyways, good to see someone with topics like yours! All the best 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. thanks for the love. please let me know if you would like a blog on anything specific. some people are minimalist by default others by choice. those who are poor generally fall into the former category. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

